eIDAS Quick Guide: “Bringing down barriers to unlock online opportunities”

eIDAS is an EU regulation on electronic identification and trust services for electronic transactions that applies as law within the whole of the EU.

The overarching goal of the regulation is to support the development of a Digital Single Market (DSM) for EU Member States, one of the European Commission’s 10 priorities for the period 2015-2019.

Specifically, eIDAS provides a clear legal framework for the formalisation of a wide range of digital transactions. The regulation’s key values are:

  • Transparency
  • Security
  • Technical neutrality
  • Cooperation
  • Interoperability

eIDAS clearly defines the use of electronic signatures and electronic identity (eID) in the EU. If you are interested in implementing these technologies in your organisation’s systems and services, you can learn more about how the regulation applies by visiting the Scrive Trust Center.